aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/stacktrace.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2019-04-25 09:45:21 (GMT)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2019-04-29 10:37:57 (GMT)
commit214d8ca6ee854f696f75e75511fe66b409e656db (patch)
tree349ba0f7bacf52e843eaea99582edead15d5dae7 /kernel/stacktrace.c
parent56d8f079c51afc8b564b9fb0252d48e7b437c1e5 (diff)
downloadkernel_replicant_linux-214d8ca6ee854f696f75e75511fe66b409e656db.zip
kernel_replicant_linux-214d8ca6ee854f696f75e75511fe66b409e656db.tar.gz
kernel_replicant_linux-214d8ca6ee854f696f75e75511fe66b409e656db.tar.bz2
stacktrace: Provide common infrastructure
All architectures which support stacktrace carry duplicated code and do the stack storage and filtering at the architecture side. Provide a consolidated interface with a callback function for consuming the stack entries provided by the architecture specific stack walker. This removes lots of duplicated code and allows to implement better filtering than 'skip number of entries' in the future without touching any architecture specific code. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> Cc: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de> Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com> Cc: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com> Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com> Cc: linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch> Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com> Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com> Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com> Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190425094803.713568606@linutronix.de
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/stacktrace.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/stacktrace.c173
1 files changed, 173 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/stacktrace.c b/kernel/stacktrace.c
index dd55312..27bafc1 100644
--- a/kernel/stacktrace.c
+++ b/kernel/stacktrace.c
@@ -5,6 +5,8 @@
*
* Copyright (C) 2006 Red Hat, Inc., Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
*/
+#include <linux/sched/task_stack.h>
+#include <linux/sched/debug.h>
#include <linux/sched.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/export.h>
@@ -66,6 +68,175 @@ int stack_trace_snprint(char *buf, size_t size, unsigned long *entries,
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(stack_trace_snprint);
+#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_STACKWALK
+
+struct stacktrace_cookie {
+ unsigned long *store;
+ unsigned int size;
+ unsigned int skip;
+ unsigned int len;
+};
+
+static bool stack_trace_consume_entry(void *cookie, unsigned long addr,
+ bool reliable)
+{
+ struct stacktrace_cookie *c = cookie;
+
+ if (c->len >= c->size)
+ return false;
+
+ if (c->skip > 0) {
+ c->skip--;
+ return true;
+ }
+ c->store[c->len++] = addr;
+ return c->len < c->size;
+}
+
+static bool stack_trace_consume_entry_nosched(void *cookie, unsigned long addr,
+ bool reliable)
+{
+ if (in_sched_functions(addr))
+ return true;
+ return stack_trace_consume_entry(cookie, addr, reliable);
+}
+
+/**
+ * stack_trace_save - Save a stack trace into a storage array
+ * @store: Pointer to storage array
+ * @size: Size of the storage array
+ * @skipnr: Number of entries to skip at the start of the stack trace
+ *
+ * Return: Number of trace entries stored.
+ */
+unsigned int stack_trace_save(unsigned long *store, unsigned int size,
+ unsigned int skipnr)
+{
+ stack_trace_consume_fn consume_entry = stack_trace_consume_entry;
+ struct stacktrace_cookie c = {
+ .store = store,
+ .size = size,
+ .skip = skipnr + 1,
+ };
+
+ arch_stack_walk(consume_entry, &c, current, NULL);
+ return c.len;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(stack_trace_save);
+
+/**
+ * stack_trace_save_tsk - Save a task stack trace into a storage array
+ * @task: The task to examine
+ * @store: Pointer to storage array
+ * @size: Size of the storage array
+ * @skipnr: Number of entries to skip at the start of the stack trace
+ *
+ * Return: Number of trace entries stored.
+ */
+unsigned int stack_trace_save_tsk(struct task_struct *tsk, unsigned long *store,
+ unsigned int size, unsigned int skipnr)
+{
+ stack_trace_consume_fn consume_entry = stack_trace_consume_entry_nosched;
+ struct stacktrace_cookie c = {
+ .store = store,
+ .size = size,
+ .skip = skipnr + 1,
+ };
+
+ if (!try_get_task_stack(tsk))
+ return 0;
+
+ arch_stack_walk(consume_entry, &c, tsk, NULL);
+ put_task_stack(tsk);
+ return c.len;
+}
+
+/**
+ * stack_trace_save_regs - Save a stack trace based on pt_regs into a storage array
+ * @regs: Pointer to pt_regs to examine
+ * @store: Pointer to storage array
+ * @size: Size of the storage array
+ * @skipnr: Number of entries to skip at the start of the stack trace
+ *
+ * Return: Number of trace entries stored.
+ */
+unsigned int stack_trace_save_regs(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long *store,
+ unsigned int size, unsigned int skipnr)
+{
+ stack_trace_consume_fn consume_entry = stack_trace_consume_entry;
+ struct stacktrace_cookie c = {
+ .store = store,
+ .size = size,
+ .skip = skipnr,
+ };
+
+ arch_stack_walk(consume_entry, &c, current, regs);
+ return c.len;
+}
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_RELIABLE_STACKTRACE
+/**
+ * stack_trace_save_tsk_reliable - Save task stack with verification
+ * @tsk: Pointer to the task to examine
+ * @store: Pointer to storage array
+ * @size: Size of the storage array
+ *
+ * Return: An error if it detects any unreliable features of the
+ * stack. Otherwise it guarantees that the stack trace is
+ * reliable and returns the number of entries stored.
+ *
+ * If the task is not 'current', the caller *must* ensure the task is inactive.
+ */
+int stack_trace_save_tsk_reliable(struct task_struct *tsk, unsigned long *store,
+ unsigned int size)
+{
+ stack_trace_consume_fn consume_entry = stack_trace_consume_entry;
+ struct stacktrace_cookie c = {
+ .store = store,
+ .size = size,
+ };
+ int ret;
+
+ /*
+ * If the task doesn't have a stack (e.g., a zombie), the stack is
+ * "reliably" empty.
+ */
+ if (!try_get_task_stack(tsk))
+ return 0;
+
+ ret = arch_stack_walk_reliable(consume_entry, &c, tsk);
+ put_task_stack(tsk);
+ return ret;
+}
+#endif
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_USER_STACKTRACE_SUPPORT
+/**
+ * stack_trace_save_user - Save a user space stack trace into a storage array
+ * @store: Pointer to storage array
+ * @size: Size of the storage array
+ *
+ * Return: Number of trace entries stored.
+ */
+unsigned int stack_trace_save_user(unsigned long *store, unsigned int size)
+{
+ stack_trace_consume_fn consume_entry = stack_trace_consume_entry;
+ struct stacktrace_cookie c = {
+ .store = store,
+ .size = size,
+ };
+
+ /* Trace user stack if not a kernel thread */
+ if (!current->mm)
+ return 0;
+
+ arch_stack_walk_user(consume_entry, &c, task_pt_regs(current));
+ return c.len;
+}
+#endif
+
+#else /* CONFIG_ARCH_STACKWALK */
+
/*
* Architectures that do not implement save_stack_trace_*()
* get these weak aliases and once-per-bootup warnings
@@ -203,3 +374,5 @@ unsigned int stack_trace_save_user(unsigned long *store, unsigned int size)
return trace.nr_entries;
}
#endif /* CONFIG_USER_STACKTRACE_SUPPORT */
+
+#endif /* !CONFIG_ARCH_STACKWALK */