aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/x86
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>2019-01-29 22:44:36 (GMT)
committerBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>2019-02-02 09:34:52 (GMT)
commite6d429313ea5c776d2e76b4494df69102e6b7115 (patch)
tree9c0a9bfca0816fe1b916da9137fe7819b2198c8c /Documentation/x86
parent2aa958c99c7fd3162b089a1a56a34a0cdb778de1 (diff)
downloadkernel_replicant_linux-e6d429313ea5c776d2e76b4494df69102e6b7115.zip
kernel_replicant_linux-e6d429313ea5c776d2e76b4494df69102e6b7115.tar.gz
kernel_replicant_linux-e6d429313ea5c776d2e76b4494df69102e6b7115.tar.bz2
x86/resctrl: Avoid confusion over the new X86_RESCTRL config
"Resource Control" is a very broad term for this CPU feature, and a term that is also associated with containers, cgroups etc. This can easily cause confusion. Make the user prompt more specific. Match the config symbol name. [ bp: In the future, the corresponding ARM arch-specific code will be under ARM_CPU_RESCTRL and the arch-agnostic bits will be carved out under the CPU_RESCTRL umbrella symbol. ] Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Babu Moger <Babu.Moger@amd.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn> Cc: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190130195621.GA30653@cmpxchg.org
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/x86')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/x86/resctrl_ui.txt2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/x86/resctrl_ui.txt b/Documentation/x86/resctrl_ui.txt
index e8e8d14..c1f95b5 100644
--- a/Documentation/x86/resctrl_ui.txt
+++ b/Documentation/x86/resctrl_ui.txt
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@ Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Vikas Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@intel.com>
-This feature is enabled by the CONFIG_X86_RESCTRL and the x86 /proc/cpuinfo
+This feature is enabled by the CONFIG_X86_CPU_RESCTRL and the x86 /proc/cpuinfo
flag bits:
RDT (Resource Director Technology) Allocation - "rdt_a"
CAT (Cache Allocation Technology) - "cat_l3", "cat_l2"