aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/x86
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2019-04-14 15:59:45 (GMT)
committerBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>2019-04-17 10:48:00 (GMT)
commit8f34c5b5afce91d171bb0802631197484cb69b8b (patch)
treeb79c16c0f7f572ce200b221230d377971b85a4ae /Documentation/x86
parent30842211506e376b76394a9cb4e6d0c9d258b8d4 (diff)
downloadkernel_replicant_linux-8f34c5b5afce91d171bb0802631197484cb69b8b.zip
kernel_replicant_linux-8f34c5b5afce91d171bb0802631197484cb69b8b.tar.gz
kernel_replicant_linux-8f34c5b5afce91d171bb0802631197484cb69b8b.tar.bz2
x86/exceptions: Make IST index zero based
The defines for the exception stack (IST) array in the TSS are using the SDM convention IST1 - IST7. That causes all sorts of code to subtract 1 for array indices related to IST. That's confusing at best and does not provide any value. Make the indices zero based and fixup the usage sites. The only code which needs to adjust the 0 based index is the interrupt descriptor setup which needs to add 1 now. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Reviewed-by: Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: "Chang S. Bae" <chang.seok.bae@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net> Cc: Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org Cc: Nicolai Stange <nstange@suse.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw> Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190414160144.331772825@linutronix.de
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/x86')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/x86/kernel-stacks8
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/x86/kernel-stacks b/Documentation/x86/kernel-stacks
index 9a0aa4d..1b04596 100644
--- a/Documentation/x86/kernel-stacks
+++ b/Documentation/x86/kernel-stacks
@@ -59,7 +59,7 @@ If that assumption is ever broken then the stacks will become corrupt.
The currently assigned IST stacks are :-
-* DOUBLEFAULT_STACK. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
+* ESTACK_DF. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
Used for interrupt 8 - Double Fault Exception (#DF).
@@ -68,7 +68,7 @@ The currently assigned IST stacks are :-
Using a separate stack allows the kernel to recover from it well enough
in many cases to still output an oops.
-* NMI_STACK. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
+* ESTACK_NMI. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
Used for non-maskable interrupts (NMI).
@@ -76,7 +76,7 @@ The currently assigned IST stacks are :-
middle of switching stacks. Using IST for NMI events avoids making
assumptions about the previous state of the kernel stack.
-* DEBUG_STACK. DEBUG_STKSZ
+* ESTACK_DB. DEBUG_STKSZ
Used for hardware debug interrupts (interrupt 1) and for software
debug interrupts (INT3).
@@ -86,7 +86,7 @@ The currently assigned IST stacks are :-
avoids making assumptions about the previous state of the kernel
stack.
-* MCE_STACK. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
+* ESTACK_MCE. EXCEPTION_STKSZ (PAGE_SIZE).
Used for interrupt 18 - Machine Check Exception (#MC).