aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/DMA-API.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArthur Kepner <akepner@sgi.com>2008-04-29 08:00:31 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-04-29 15:06:11 (GMT)
commita75b0a2f68d3937f96ed39525e4750601483e3b4 (patch)
tree1a84f2ef16515880f00e2db9a931299f22a07071 /Documentation/DMA-API.txt
parent74bc7ceebfa1c84ddd3a843ebfb56df013bf7ef5 (diff)
downloadkernel_replicant_linux-a75b0a2f68d3937f96ed39525e4750601483e3b4.zip
kernel_replicant_linux-a75b0a2f68d3937f96ed39525e4750601483e3b4.tar.gz
kernel_replicant_linux-a75b0a2f68d3937f96ed39525e4750601483e3b4.tar.bz2
dma: document dma_*map*_attrs() interfaces
Document the new dma_*map*_attrs() functions. [markn@au1.ibm.com: fix up for dma-add-dma_map_attrs-interfaces and update docs] Signed-off-by: Arthur Kepner <akepner@sgi.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org> Cc: Jes Sorensen <jes@sgi.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Cc: Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au> Signed-off-by: Mark Nelson <markn@au1.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/DMA-API.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/DMA-API.txt65
1 files changed, 65 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/DMA-API.txt b/Documentation/DMA-API.txt
index b939ebb..5f9f9df 100644
--- a/Documentation/DMA-API.txt
+++ b/Documentation/DMA-API.txt
@@ -395,6 +395,71 @@ Notes: You must do this:
See also dma_map_single().
+dma_addr_t
+dma_map_single_attrs(struct device *dev, void *cpu_addr, size_t size,
+ enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+
+void
+dma_unmap_single_attrs(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t dma_addr,
+ size_t size, enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+
+int
+dma_map_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sgl,
+ int nents, enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+
+void
+dma_unmap_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sgl,
+ int nents, enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+
+The four functions above are just like the counterpart functions
+without the _attrs suffixes, except that they pass an optional
+struct dma_attrs*.
+
+struct dma_attrs encapsulates a set of "dma attributes". For the
+definition of struct dma_attrs see linux/dma-attrs.h.
+
+The interpretation of dma attributes is architecture-specific, and
+each attribute should be documented in Documentation/DMA-attributes.txt.
+
+If struct dma_attrs* is NULL, the semantics of each of these
+functions is identical to those of the corresponding function
+without the _attrs suffix. As a result dma_map_single_attrs()
+can generally replace dma_map_single(), etc.
+
+As an example of the use of the *_attrs functions, here's how
+you could pass an attribute DMA_ATTR_FOO when mapping memory
+for DMA:
+
+#include <linux/dma-attrs.h>
+/* DMA_ATTR_FOO should be defined in linux/dma-attrs.h and
+ * documented in Documentation/DMA-attributes.txt */
+...
+
+ DEFINE_DMA_ATTRS(attrs);
+ dma_set_attr(DMA_ATTR_FOO, &attrs);
+ ....
+ n = dma_map_sg_attrs(dev, sg, nents, DMA_TO_DEVICE, &attr);
+ ....
+
+Architectures that care about DMA_ATTR_FOO would check for its
+presence in their implementations of the mapping and unmapping
+routines, e.g.:
+
+void whizco_dma_map_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t dma_addr,
+ size_t size, enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+{
+ ....
+ int foo = dma_get_attr(DMA_ATTR_FOO, attrs);
+ ....
+ if (foo)
+ /* twizzle the frobnozzle */
+ ....
+
Part II - Advanced dma_ usage
-----------------------------